STADT:up

Solutions and technologies for automated driving in town:
an urban mobility project

22 partners
Timeline: January 2023 – December 2025
Budget: €62.8 million

Motivation and objectives

In the STADT:up project, concepts and pilot applications of continuous automated driving in urban areas are being developed that are tailored to user needs. The focus is on the implementation of new, AI-based methods and their demonstration in automated driving systems, especially in complex traffic situations. Special consideration is given to vulnerable road users, complex junctions, automated merging, and obstacle avoidance.

.

STADT:up aims at integrated, scalable solutions for future urban mobility: The vehicles must be able to safely master also complex inner-city traffic scenarios. The solutions are based on individual mobility cases and show the networking for multi-modal mobility. With regard to realistic perspectives of future urban mobility, suitable future concepts are developed and requirements are derived based on the needs of the users

Research contents

The project considers the entire signal processing chain: perception, fusion, localisation, environment model, prediction, interaction and cooperation up to behaviour and manoeuvre planning. The goals are the perception of dynamic and static environments and the delineation and treatment of fuzziness in these two categories as well as highly available robust and adaptive trajectory planning based on multimodal prediction of all road users. The project also takes a differentiated look at the interaction and communication concepts between users, the vehicle and other road users in automated driving. The situation-dependent adaptivity of operating concepts as well as the situation- and experience-dependent change in user behaviour will be examined.

In addition, concepts and perspectives for future intermodal mobility will be developed, involving all stakeholders: Cities, users, research institutions and the automotive industry. Of central importance is the question of how the mixed traffic of pedestrians, cyclists, privately or jointly used vehicles and public transport will develop in the future. Possible influences such as a strengthening of regionality and the development of local city centres, the change in infrastructure or the changing mobility behaviour of users, e.g. due to home office or a growing awareness of energy and resources, are considered.

News

20.11.2023 | Sub-project "Human Factors" at the TU Darmstadt

The autumn meeting of the "Human Factors" sub-project took place on November 20th and 21st. More than 30 experts from the automotive industry and research came together to discuss progress and challenges in the field of human factors in automated driving in urban areas. The project partners presented their interim results from the first year of the project; workshops were also held on topics such as teleoperation, emotion recognition and driver readiness.

07.11.2023 | Steering committee at Ergosign in Munich

On November 7, representatives of all 22 STADT:up partners and the programme management organization TÜV Rheinland Consulting met at Ergosign in Munich for the fourth steering committee meeting this year. The focus was on the presentation of the results of the first project milestone "System concepts created" by the five sub-project managers. In addition, the status of the work in the sub-projects and organizational topics were also discussed.

06.11.2023 | Dialogue forum "intermodal urban mobility"

On November 6, 2023, the all-day "Synthesis Workshop" of the sub-project "Perspectives of Urban Mobility" took place at the Technical University of Munich in Garching, bringing STADT:up technology partners and municipal representatives together for a dialogue. During the workshop, experts from STADT:up exchanged views with representatives from local authorities and transport companies on the future role of automated and connected driving in urban traffic.

30.09.2023 | First project milestone achieved

The first project milestone "System concepts created" was achieved on time! In all five sub-projects, the goals set for the first project phase at the beginning of the project were achieved. The task now is to turn the extensive concepts and specifications for all STADT:up research topics into experienceable prototypes in the remaining project period.

17.05.2023 | Expert workshop with technology partners

The workshop at TU Darmstadt aimed to discuss future scenarios for automated and connected driving in the urban environment and to identify information and exchange needs between the technology partners of the STADT:up consortium and the municipalities. The results of the workshop provide a good basis for further work in the "intermodal urban mobility" dialogue forum with the project partners and the cities.

01.03.2023 | Kick Off at Bosch in Renningen

On March 1st and 2nd, around 120 project participants from the 22 partner houses as well as representatives of the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action and the TÜV Rheinland Group meet for a personal exchange at the official kick-off event at the Bosch Research Campus in Renningen.

01.03.2023 | Press Release

Fitting automated mobility into the dynamic system of cities is an extremely challenging task. In a first joint press release on March 1st, the consortium provides information on how STADT:up intends to further advance automated driving in urban areas.

01.01.2023 | Project start

Supported by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, the 22 renowned partners from industry and research are starting work on the joint project STADT:up. Workshops will be held in the 5 sub-projects over the next few weeks to lay the foundations for the three-year joint research work.

STADT:up

Solutions and technologies for automated driving in town:
an urban mobility project

22 Projektpartner
Laufzeit: 01.01.2023 – 31.12.2025

Motivation und Projektziele

Im Projekt STADT:up werden auf die Nutzerbedürfnisse zugeschnittene Konzepte und Pilotapplikationen des durchgängigen automatisierten Fahrens im urbanen Raum entwickelt. Schwerpunkte liegen in der Umsetzung neuer, KI-basierter Methoden und deren Demonstration in automatisierten Fahrsystemen, insbesondere bei komplexen Verkehrssituationen. Spezielle Betrachtung finden verletzliche Verkehrsteilnehmer, komplexe Knotenpunkte sowie automatisiertes Einfädeln und Umfahren von Hindernissen.

STADT:up zielt auf durchgängige, skalierbare Lösungen für künftige urbane Mobilität: Die Fahrzeuge müssen auch komplexe innerstädtische Verkehrsszenarien sicher beherrschen. Die Lösungen gehen dabei von individuellen Mobilitätsfällen aus und zeigen die Vernetzung zur multi-modalen Mobilität. Im Hinblick auf realitätsnahe Perspektiven künftiger urbaner Mobilität werden geeignete Zukunftskonzepte erarbeitet und Anforderungen anhand der Bedürfnisse der Nutzer abgeleitet.

Forschungsinhalte

Das Projekt berücksichtigt die gesamte Wirkkette: Perzeption, Fusion, Lokalisation, Umfeldmodell, Prädiktion, Interaktion und Kooperation bis hin zur Verhaltens- und Manöverplanung. Ziele sind die Erkennung von dynamischem und statischem Umfeld und die Abgrenzung und Behandlung von Unschärfe in diesen beiden Kategorien sowie die hochverfügbare robuste und adaptive Trajektorienplanung basierend auf multimodaler Prädiktion aller Verkehrsteilnehmer. Im Projekt findet weiterhin eine differenzierte Betrachtung der Interaktions- und Kommunikationskonzepte zwischen Nutzenden, Fahrzeug und anderen Verkehrsteilnehmern bei automatisiertem Fahrbetrieb statt. Dabei werden die situationsabhängige Adaptivität von Bedienkonzepten, wie auch die situations- und erfahrungsa­bhängige Veränderung des Nutzerverhaltens beleuchtet.

Ergänzend werden Konzepte und Perspektiven für zukünftige, intermodale Mobilität erarbeitet, wobei sämtliche Stakeholder einbezogen werden: Städte, Nutzende, Forschungseinrichtungen und die Automobilindustrie. Von zentraler Bedeutung ist dabei die Frage, wie sich der Mischverkehr aus Fußgängern, Radfahrern, privat oder gemeinschaftlich genutzten Fahrzeugen und ÖPNV zukünftig entwickeln wird. Betrachtet werden mögliche Einflüsse wie bspw. eine Stärkung von Regionalität und die Entwicklung lokaler Stadtzentren, die Veränderung der Infrastruktur oder das sich ändernde Mobilitätsverhalten von Nutzenden z.B. durch Home-Office oder ein wachsendes Energie- und Ressourcenbewusstsein.

News

Teilprojekt „Human Factors“ bei der TU Darmstadt
20.11.2023 | Teilprojekt „Human Factors“ bei der TU Darmstadt

Am 20. und 21.11. fand das Herbsttreffen des Teilprojekts „Human Factors“ statt. Mehr als 30 Expert:innen aus Automobilindustrie und Forschung kamen zusammen, um über Fortschritte und Herausforderungen im Bereich Human Factors beim automatisierten Fahren im urbanen Raum zu diskutieren. Die Projektpartner präsentierten ihre Zwischenergebnisse des ersten Projektjahres; darüber hinaus fanden Workshops zu Themen wie Teleoperation, Emotionserkennung und Driver Readiness statt.

Steuerkreistreffen bei Ergosign in München
07.11.2023 | Steuerkreistreffen bei Ergosign in München

Am 7. November trafen sich Repräsentanten aller 22 STADT:up-Partner und des Projektträgers TÜV Rheinland Consulting bei Ergosign in München zum vierten Steuerkreis in diesem Jahr. Im Vordergrund stand dabei die Vorstellung der Ergebnisse des ersten Projektmeilensteins „Systemkonzepte erstellt“ durch die fünf Teilprojektleiter. Darüber hinaus wurde auch der Stand der Arbeiten in den Teilprojekten und organisatorische Themen besprochen.

Dialogforum „intermodale urbane Mobilität“
06.11.2023 | Dialogforum „intermodale urbane Mobilität“

Am 6.11.2023 fand an der TU München in Garching der ganztägige „Syntheseworkshop“ des Teilprojekts „Perspektiven urbaner Mobilität“ statt, der STADT:up Technologiepartner und kommunale Vertreter zum Dialog zusammenbrachte. Im Rahmen des Workshops tauschten sich die Experten aus STADT:up mit Vertretern von Kommunen und Verkehrsbetrieben über die zukünftige Rolle von automatisiertem und vernetzten Fahren im urbanen Verkehr aus.

Meilenstein
30.09.2023 | Erster Projektmeilenstein erreicht

Der erste Projektmeilenstein „Systemkonzepte erstellt“ wurde termingerecht erfüllt! In allen fünf Teilprojekten konnten, die zu Beginn des Vorhabens für die erste Projektphase gesteckten Ziele erreicht werden. Nun gilt es, die umfangreichen Konzepte und Spezifikationen zu allen STADT:up-Forschungsthemen in der verbleibenden Projektlaufzeit in erlebbare Prototypen umzusetzen.

Expertenworkshop mit Technologiepartnern
17.05.2023 | Expertenworkshop mit Technologiepartnern

Der Workshop an der TU Darmstadt zielte darauf ab, zukünftige Szenarien für das automatisierte und vernetzte Fahren im urbanen Umfeld zu diskutieren und Informations- sowie Austauschbedarfe zwischen den Technologiepartnern des STADT:up- Konsortiums und den Kommunen zu identifizieren. Die Ergebnisse des Workshops legen eine gute Basis für die weitere Arbeit im Dialogforum „intermodale urbane Mobilität“ mit den Projektpartnern und den Städten.

01.03.2023 | Kick Off bei Bosch in Renningen

Am 01. und 02. März treffen sich rund 120 Projektbeteiligte aus den 22 Partnerhäusern sowie Vertreter des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz und des Projektträgers TÜV Rheinland zum persönlichen Austausch bei der offiziellen Auftaktveranstaltung auf dem Bosch Forschungscampus in Renningen.

01.03.2023 | Gemeinsame Pressemitteilung

Automatisierte Mobilität in das dynamische System Stadt einzupassen, ist eine extrem anspruchsvolle Aufgabe. Darüber, wie STADT:up automatisiertes Fahren in urbanen Räumen weiter voranbringen möchte, informiert das Partnerkonsortium in einer ersten gemeinsamen Pressemitteilung am 01.03.2023.

01.01.2023 | Projektstart

Gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz starten die 22 namhaften Partner aus Industrie und Forschung mit den Arbeiten im Verbundprojekt STADT:up. In den 5 Teilprojekten werden in den nächsten Wochen Workshops stattfinden, um die Grundsteine für die dreijährige gemeinsame Forschungsarbeit zu legen.